पतञ्जलि: patañjaliyogasūtra

| proper noun |

Considered by scholars to be one of the foundations of classical yoga philosophy texts of Hinduism, Yoga Sūtras of Patañjali consist of 196 Indian sutras (aphorisms). It was compiled before the twelfth century by sage Patañjali. It has been translated into several languages and studied extensively. Yoga Sūtras of Patañjali 196 aphorisms are divided into four main chapters (pada in Sanskrit): Samadhi Pada (meditative absorption), Sadhana Pada (practice, discipline), Vibhuti Pada (manifestation of power) and Kaivalya Pada (liberation). 

Before the twentieth century, yoga in India was dominated by other established and respected texts such as Bhagavad Gita. After the twentieth century, western practitioners of yoga elevated the sutras to a higher status previously unknown. Having fallen into obscurity for nearly 700 years from the 12th to 19th century, it was revived as a classic yoga text thanks to the efforts of prominent Swami Vivekananda and others. 

Leave a Reply